top of page

Self Titled Album


Who's this nerd?

Hello and welcome to my blog! My name is Devin Sobottka and through my posts I hope to enlighten you to the joys of research. I am currently attending the University of Wisconsin - Eau Claire (UWEC) under the chemistry, A.C.S. certified, biochemistry emphasis, Comprehensive Major. I am in my third year of this program and expect to graduate in the spring of 2025 where I will then go on to grad school! I am currently working with Dr. Tyler Doyon, a professor in the chemistry department, as an undergraduate researcher. Something of note is that I am a non-traditional student, which has afforded me a different outlook on my college career then is typical.


Not my traditions!

Way back in September of 2010, I started my first semester in college at UWEC. Only, instead of my current major, I was going for a computer science degree. I thought I wanted to be a programmer. Despite my love for the field I found that programming was not for me and one year later I transferred out of the University and into the Chippewa Valley Technical College for a degree in IT networking. Two years later I graduated with my associates and started to look for jobs in my field. During this process I worked at local businesses After several failed interviews and dealing with the struggles of relocating for work I gave up on my goal of working in IT and transitioned into blue collar work while I contemplated returning to school.


A new beginning...

Before I get into the particulars of my return to UWEC I think it's important to mention that, while I was interested in the sciences of chemistry, physics, and biology I was never able to invest much of my time into these areas. As the years went on, my back and knees started to deteriorate from the stress of the work I was putting myself though. I knew that I could not continue working blue collar jobs and that I needed a change of career before permanent damage was done. It was around this time, late 2019, that news of a viral outbreak in China and the idea of a possible global pandemic was spreading. Several months later the lockdowns started. During the period of the lockdowns I began to consume every bit of media I could about the Covid-19 story and watch, in real time the development of the vaccine. I didn't understand a whole lot of what I was reading but it fascinated me and put the idea "I want to do this," into my head. From that moment I started looking at colleges again and ultimately decided to go back to Eau Claire. I was already familiar with the college, I wouldn't have to move, and it had great opportunities for getting research experience. Something I knew I would need if I were heading to grad school. So, in the fall of 2021 as some of the Covid-19 restrictions were being lifted and schools began to hold in person classes, I once again started my college journey.

Comments


bottom of page